The chase is over!

If you read Sunday’s article ‘The thrill of the chase’, (if not, go and read it now, then come back) you’ll know that there was still one record that has eluded me for the best part of 20 years.

‘Earthly powers’ by A Man Called Adam.

The one that got away - or did it?

The one that got away - or did it?

Well, inspired by a comment posted by ‘Don Pash’ this evening, I decided to pick up the trail that had gone cold for more than one of us for a considerably long time.

This time I decided to unleash all the powers of the Internet on my quarry and conduct the search in cyberspace.

Thrillingly, a Google search bore fruit instantly, with a link to this clip on Youtube, which enabled me to listen to this classic slab of Acid Jazz for the first time in 18 years.

For nine and a half minutes I was transported back to the very late eighties, and the last time I’d heard this song, travelling in a car with my parents and my little brother, who introduced me to the awesome tune in the first place.

Appetite duly whetted, I ploughed on through the many search results, some promising a tantalising download, but failing to produce the goods. However, I did finally manage to track down a retailer willing to supply the 12″ vinyl version, the aptly titled ‘Hard to find Records’. The only snag is of course, that I don’t own a record player.

Further diligence paid off though, and I tracked down the only CD in existence on which the track is included, Totally Wired & Illicit Grooves: Acid Jazz – The Birth of a Scene 1987-1990 which I have now ordered from Amazon and should be with me very soon.

That elusive, now deleted, track will be on my ipod within the week.

Not only am I delighted to be reunited with this great song after all this time, but it seems somehow fitting that I located it using the power of technology. The ‘search’ argument that started with Spotify, via independent record stores has come full circle and ended with Google. As another wise correspondent suggested earlier this week “vinyl, CD, mp3, itunes, Spotify, they all have their merits, why can’t we all get along?”.

I believe we can, and just to prove it, Don Pash, I bought the 12″ version from Hard To Find Records for you. After all, that’s what big brothers are for.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The chase is over!

  1. Don Pash says:

    Wow.
    You are Legend.

    Thanks mate.

  2. Matt says:

    Gareth, If you like your acid jazz you must know about Guru and his Jazzamatazz series. Check it out and if you like I’ve got Jazzamatazz Volumes 1,2 and 3 you can borrow.

    Your comments about vinyl rings true with me as I had a real regression session the other day. Preparing for a long car journey back up to Liverpool at Easter, Max wanted to put together some of his favourite songs. Problem is our car only has a tape player – no CD’s in a five year old basic Vauxhall! Since I don’t even own an iPod let alone an iTrip we had to:

    – Put together the playlist in iTunes
    – Burn it to CD
    – Rummage in a box in the loft for a tape
    – Record it onto tape

    If I had the equipment I would have cut it to vinyl or even made a wax cylinder.

    So what we ended up with was the classic “Mix tape”. It’s been a long time since I did a mix tape, but those skills never leave you: winding the tape on, play and record – finger hovering on the pause button… it took me back to the days of taping songs off the radio on a Sunday evening. Perhaps you should dig through your loft box and pull out some of your old mix tapes and do a blog about those.

  3. Andy says:

    Aww, congratulations dude!

    I listened to the Youtube clip…daym that’s fonky! For some reason it really reminded me of the soundtrack to the old Sega video game, “Out Run”. Perhaps you and Nic should cruise across the USA in an open-top Ferrari with this track playing in a constant loop. Just make sure you hit the next checkpoint before the timer runs out…

    You don’t own a record player?? For shame!! You’re not a proper nerd! 😛

Leave a comment