It’s the End of The Road…

The End of The Road Festival, that is.

This time tomorrow I’ll be there, and I have to say I am more than a little excited and very much looking forward to it. I’m a little ashamed to say that this will be my first proper music festival, but by all accounts I couldn’t have chosen a better one to start off with. The EOTR festival, which takes place at Larmer Tree Gardens in North Dorset from Friday to Sunday is only in its fourth year, but is apparently THE festival for REAL music lovers. It began with a few friends who decided they wanted to put on a festival featuring their favourite bands, and they have a very refreshing view of how a festival should be.

It’s also very small, with a maximum capacity of 5,000 (though it is totally sold out) and is jam-packed with a quirky assortment of indie folk, alt.country and Americana bands. So, in essence, absolutely my cup of tea.

I’m particularly excited that I’ll finally be seeing one of my very favourite bands, The Hold Steady, play live for the first time, and there are several other ‘must-see’ slots on my schedule, such as The Broken Family Band, The Low Anthem, The Duke & The King, Fleet Foxes and Vetiver. Having known the line-up for some time, I’ve also had the chance to research some of the more unfamiliar names on Spotify, so I will also be checking out Joe Gideon and the Shark, Explosions in the Sky, Shearwater, Neko Case and Dirty Projectors.

As a regular punter, rather than a gadget-packing journalist I have no intention of doing any live blogging from the festival, tweeting or any of that malarkey. However, I will be taking my trusty moleskine notebook for writing reviews and notes and will report back on what should be a fantastic weekend.

Leave a Reply

